Birthday Challenge

Hey everyone!

READING CHALLENGE

Every year on my birthday I give myself a Reading Challenge and this time I thought I would share mine with you all.(No, this is not a ploy for wishes. Book recommendations are welcome, though) Here is a list of challenges that I am taking up this year:

READ A COLLECTION OF POEMS

Because life is incomplete without lyrical literary pleasure

READ A COLLECTION OF SHORT STORIES

For bite-sized reading pleasure

READ A NOVELLA

Everyone needs a literary snack once in a while

READ A GRAPHIC NOVEL

They are a treat to the eyes

RE-READ A BOOK I HATED BEFORE

Every book deserves a second chance

READ A BOOK I HAVE NOT READ BEFORE

That is what this challenge is all about

RE-READ A BOOK I LIKED BUT NOT ANYMORE

A re-read can provide a new perspective

READ A BOOK OF WHICH I (ACCIDENTALLY) SAW THE MOVIE BEFORE

This happens to everyone at least once but that does not mean we don’t read the book

READ A BOOK AND THEN SEE A MOVIE BASED ON IT

Maybe the movie will do justice to the book ( a girl can dream)

READ A CLASSIC

Only a few books survive the river of time and those that do, do so for a reason

READ A BANNED BOOK

No book should be banned

READ A BOOK WITH MORE THAN 500 PAGES

For a big appetite

READ A BOOK WITH A NUMBER IN THE TITLE

To mix things up a bit

READ A BOOK BY A FEMALE AUTHOR

Because the female voice is important

READ A BOOK BY A MALE AUTHOR

Because the male voice is just as important

READ A BOOK WITH A ONE-WORD TITLE

Sometimes a single word is all that is required

READ A NONFICTION BOOK

To stop escaping and come back to reality

READ A POPULAR AUTHOR’S FIRST BOOK

The first book is the most revealing

READ A FRIEND’S RECOMMENDATION

Because they know me best

READ A PULITZER PRIZE WINNING BOOK

Need I elaborate?

READ A BOOK MY MOM LOVES

Because she is the one who got me into reading

READ A BOOK MORE THAN 100 YEARS OLD

To take a trip to the past

READ A MEMOIR

Because memories are the greatest treasures

FINISH A BOOK IN A DAY

Because the other hundred-something books in my TBR also require attention

READ A TRILOGY

Because some stories require three books

READ A SERIES (MORE THAN 3 BOOKS)

Because three books cannot do justice to some stories

READ A BOOK WITH A COLOUR IN THE TITLE

To make for a colourful read

READ A BOOK BY AN AUTHOR I HAVE NEVER READ BEFORE

To discover new wonders

READ A TRANSLATED WORK

Because not knowing a language should not deter me from becoming familiar with the literature in that language

READ A PLAY

Stage to the page

READ A BOOK THAT HAS BEEN ON MY TBR SINCE THE LAST CHALLENGE

It has been waiting too long

READ A CURRENT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

Its a New York Times Bestseller

READ A BOOK SET IN THE PAST

To learn how life was

READ A BOOK SET IN THE FUTURE

To learn how life might be

READ A BOOK BASED ON A TRUE STORY

Real life is crazier than fiction

READ A BOOK SET IN A FANTASY WORLD

Imagination can create beautiful worlds

LISTEN TO AN AUDIOBOOK

Some books are just chocolate to the ears

READ A MAN BOOKER AWARD WINNING BOOK

Its a Man Booker Award winning book

READ A DISTURBING BOOK

I’m a Psychology student (need I say more?)

READ AN UNDERRATED BOOK

Some books don’t get the attention they deserve

READ AN OVERRATED BOOK

Some books get more attention than they deserve

A BOOK THAT IT TOOK ME TOO LONG TO FINISH

Certain reads are just time-consumers

READ A QUOTABLE BOOK

I’m a sucker for book quotations

READ A DYSTOPIAN NOVEL

To avoid what is described therein

READ A UTOPIAN NOVEL

To try and be as close to what is described therein

READ A BOOK RECOMMENDED BY A FOLLOWER

Because you are all the best! I am gonna need your help with this

READ AN EPISTOLARY NOVEL

Alternative means of information are extraordinary tools of exposition

READ A FEMINIST WORK

Books can be a great tool to propagate equality

READ A BOOK WRITTEN ABOUT OR BY SOMEONE WHO IDENTIFIES AS QUEER

This beautiful community doesn’t get the attention it deserves

READ A BOOK ADAPTED FROM/MADE INTO A TV SERIES

Because some plots are too amazing for movies

READ A CULT CLASSIC

Some books only appeal to a set community but are as amazing as all classics

READ A BOOK WHICH IS A GUILTY PLEASURE

Sometimes I just don’t want to admit that I liked reading a particular book

READ A BOOK ABOUT OR BY SOMEONE FROM AFRICA

The diversity in African culture fascinates me

READ A NATIONAL BOOK AWARD WINNING BOOK

Its a National Book Award Winning Book

READ A BOOK PUBLISHED IN 2016

Gotta keep up with the latest

READ A BOOK WRITTEN BY SOMEONE UNDER 30

The youth has the freshest voice

FINISH A BOOK IN A SINGLE SITTING

For a healthy meal

A BOOK I HAVE MIXED FEELINGS ABOUT

Sometimes its hard to decide whether I like a book or not


That is some list! I am going to need your help if I’m going to succeed this year. Please send in any and all recommendations you have whether they fit into these categories or not. I will keep updating this as I work through this. Anyone who is up to the challenge, please join in.

Happy Reading!

Jeannie

11 thoughts on “Birthday Challenge

  1. Pingback: WEEKLY WONDER: Coraline by Neil Gaiman (#41) – BOOKLOVERS' HAVEN

  2. Pingback: Happy Birthday! – BOOKLOVERS' HAVEN

  3. Pingback: WEEKLY WONDER: Ghosts by Henrik Ibsen (#27) | BOOKLOVERS' HAVEN

  4. Pingback: WEEKLY WONDER: Daddy Long Legs by Jean Webster (#19) | BOOKLOVERS' HAVEN

  5. Oh, and a book you might have already read. Some people cringe when it’s said, but the Bible really is an interesting read. I’ve read it cover to cover at least 4 times and it still fascinates me, especially when I consider it from a skeptics perspective. I always skip Numbers, though.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Interesting one. I read the Bible once. A stage of life when I was exploring different religions. I came out from it as an atheist. So I would like to thank you for the suggestion but unfortunately, this is one I will not be taking. No offence to you. I am genuinely looking forward to reading the books you suggested earlier but this one is not my type. Thanks a lot regardless.

      Like

  6. Alright then, let’s get started!
    Book in a day- Coraline
    Translated work- the Little Prince
    Book set in the past- anything from F. Scott Fitzgerald
    Disturbing books- Alice thinks that The Map of Time is disturbing, I love it. Same feelings for one of the last Sherlock Holmes book, I think it was The House of Silk
    Overrated- any part of the Twilight saga
    Underrated, fictional, futuristic- The Prophesy of the Stones
    Dystopia- O Brave New World
    That should cover it for now. On a side note, I finally found my Kindle! Think you could offer a list of free Kindle finds?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow! Thank you!
      That should cover it for now.

      Congratulations on the Kindle. Any and all classics are available for free on Kindle and it is hard to go wrong with classics. Waking up Married was free when I bought it. Its a good one if you are looking for a light read. I strongly suggest BookBub if you want free Kindle books or great deals on Kindle books. They will email you with book deals everyday as and when a book has a drop in price.

      Like

What do you have to say?

