WEEKLY WONDER: Daddy Long Legs by Jean Webster (#19)

Hey Everyone!

Welcome to Weekly Wonder! A weekly series in which we seek to introduce you to books that belong in your TBRs.

This week’s Wonder is:

Daddy Long Legs by Jean Webster Cover

DADDY LONG LEGS BY JEAN WEBSTER

SO, WHAT’S UP WITH THE STORY?

Judy Abbott is looking forward to… nothing. Having already overstayed her welcome at the orphanage in which she was raised, Judy is at loose ends until an anonymous benefactor decides to pay her way through college if she writes him a monthly letter on noticing her talent as a writer. The orphan Judy must now not only navigate the wonders of college but also catch up to speed with the cultural knowledge that her peers have come to see as part of their lives while simultaneously learning how to use her newfound freedom and the reader gets to see this transition from child to adult through her letters.


A GLIMPSE BETWEEN THE PAGES

“It isn’t the big troubles in life that require character. Anybody can rise to a crisis and face a crushing tragedy with courage, but to meet the petty hazards of the day with a laugh – I really think that requires spirit.
It’s the kind of character that I am going to develop. I am going to pretend that all life is just a game which I must play as skillfully and fairly as I can. If I lose, I am going to shrug my shoulders and laugh – also if I win.”

“I think that the most necessary quality for any person to have is imagination. It makes people able to put themselves in other people’s places. It makes them kind and sympathetic and understanding.”

“Dear Daddy-Long-Legs,

You never answered my question and it was very important.

ARE YOU BALD?”

“It’s much more entertaining to live books than to write them.”

“The world is full of happiness, and plenty to go around, if you are only willing to take the kind that comes your way…”


WHAT I LOVE ABOUT IT

  • As I mentioned before in the Birthday Challenge, I have a special place in my heart for epistolary novels.
  • As I am looking forward to college myself, this book resonates with me.
  • This is one of those unique books that has been considered both a “feminist work” and an “anti-feminist fairy tale.” Regardless of what it actually is, I love books that spark this kind of debate.
  • The “surprise ending” is highly predictable but enjoyable nonetheless.
  • I love to see the growth of Judy as a character.
  • The one-sided epistolary style is amazing! It has its drawbacks, sure but I feel it snugly fits this particular story.

I hope you like it!

Already read it? What did you think of it?

Let me know it all in the comments! (No spoilers please!)

Happy Reading!

Jeannie

One thought on “WEEKLY WONDER: Daddy Long Legs by Jean Webster (#19)

  1. Pingback: My Life in Books + Free Printable Bookmarks + Good News! | BOOKLOVERS' HAVEN

What do you have to say?

