WEEKLY WONDER:A Doll’s House by Henrik Ibsen (#25)

Hey everyone!

Welcome to Weekly Wonder, a weekly series in which we add treasures to your TBRs.

This week’s Wonder is:

A-Doll's-House-by-Henrik-Ibsen

A DOLL’S HOUSE BY HENRIK IBSEN

SO, WHAT’S UP WITH THE STORY?

Nora is her husband, Torvald’s skylark, his squirrel but is she his wife? As her almost decade long deception unfolds in her husband’s eyes, so does the reality of life in hers. Will she be able to see it as amidst the chaos of life turning upside down? Read the book to find out!


A GLIMPSE BETWEEN THE PAGES

“You have never loved me. You have only thought it pleasant to be in love with me.”

“Helmer: I would gladly work night and day for you. Nora- bear sorrow and want for your sake. But no man would sacrifice his honor for the one he loves.
Nora: It is a thing hundreds of thousands of women have done.”

“Nora: Torvald, don’t look at me like that!
Torvald: Can’t I look at my richest treasure? At all that beauty that’s mine, mine alone-completely and utterly.”

“Our home has been nothing but a playroom. I have been your doll-wife, just as at home I was papa’s doll-child; and here the children have been my dolls.”


WHAT I LOVE ABOUT IT

  • This is one of those plays that can be enjoyed both on the page as well as the stage and even the screen. Check out these trailers:

 

  • This modern response to the play:
  • This play was banned because of its potrayal of women. I love any work of art that is so ahead of its times that it becomes revolutionary enough to be banned.
  • I love how the tarantella plays out and the role it plays in the book.
  • The way the financial dependence of women on men has been potrayed is amazing!
  • The ending. Oh my goodness, the ending.

Warning: Do NOT read the alternative ending!

Have you read it? What did you think of it?

If not, do you plan to read it?

Let me know it all in the comments below!

Happy Reading!

Jeannie

11 thoughts on “WEEKLY WONDER:A Doll’s House by Henrik Ibsen (#25)

  1. Pingback: WEEKLY WONDER: Ghosts by Henrik Ibsen (#27) | BOOKLOVERS' HAVEN

  2. I completely agree with you about the ending. I was not too fond of the characters (especially Nora) but the fact that her character grew so drastically makes the end very good. I must say, this story may not seem worth reading because of the superficial ways of the characters but the end changes it all.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Exactly! Finally someone who gets it. The ending would not make sense if Nora’s character wasn’t as childish and irritating as it was. She can be exasperating, especially if you are reading the play for the first time but on the second read, after knowing the ending, I actually enjoyed it.

      I’m glad you read the play. Let me know if you would like a Weekly Wonder for a particular book but I must warn you, I will not be reading any new books till my exams are over.

      Like

      1. Agreed ! That is the purpose behind fabricating Nora as someone thickheaded (for the lack of a better word); the impact of the end wouldn’t hit the reader as hard if the character fails to surprise one.
        Oh you must do ‘Chronicle of a Death Foretold’ by Gabriel García Márquez… It is excellent. And it’s cool, I’ll wait till your exams end.
        Also, are you related to Pallavi anyhow ? I followed this blog ’cause I know Pallavi (still glad I’m following it though) but you’re Jeannie and you’ll run this together, right ?

        Liked by 1 person

        1. I agree.

          I’ve heard a lot about Marquez. I read One Hundred Years in Solitude and found his magical realism odd. I’ll give Chronicle a try after boards and if I like it, I’ll do a Weekly Wonder on it and if I don’t, I will still write a post regardless. This is because Weekly Wonder is a recommendation series and I don’t recommend books I personally don’t like. I hope that is okay.

          Pallavi and I met at school and since I found her passion for reading and writing so similar to my own, I invited her to join me on the blog. We now run it together.

          I’m glad you like the blog.

          Like

              1. Sure.
                No I’m in DPGA (Dr. Pillai Global Academy (Gorai)… I’m sure you haven’t heard of it.)
                If you’re wondering how I know her, we were in Billabong together (our pervious school.)
                Oh and thank you. Do give me feedback when you go through my works. xoxo

                Liked by 1 person

  3. I read the play in like, 2 hours straight, in one sitting! I’m not too fond of it though: Nora and Torvald are both annoying characters to me. However, I like the end, due to Nora’s realisation and everything. It’s like, she almost grows as a character, just due to the events of those 2 days!

    Like

    1. I’m glad you read the play.

      As for both of them being annoying, I think that’s the point. Nora’s dependence and immaturity as well as Torvald’s controlling and infantilising behaviour illustrate the stress in the relationship.

      Personally, for me, their annoying characteristics make the ending as liberating and satisfying as it is. It wouldn’t make sense without them.

      Liked by 1 person

What do you have to say?

