WEEKLY WONDER: Life of Pi by Yann Martel (#31)

 

Hey everyone!

Welcome to Weekly Wonder, a weekly series in which we bring the recommend the very best for your To Be Read list.

This week’s Wonder is:

IMG_20160207_134956
Life of Pi, by Yann Martel


SO, WHAT IS UP WITH THE STORY?

The narrator is an author without a story to write, with a failed and forgotten novel behind him. Enter Piscine Molitor Patel, who tells us the story of his life- a tale as unique as his name. Adrift at sea with one of Earth’s most deadly predators, Pi’s story is told in a series of oral anecdotes to our hungry narrator. As Pi’s uncle says,”It is a story that will make you believe in God.”


A GLIMPSE BETWEEN THE PAGES

“I know zoos are no longer in people’s good graces. Religion faces the same problem. Certain illusions about freedom plague them both.”

“Hindus, in their capacity for love, are indeed hairless Christians, just as Muslims, in the way they see God in everything, are bearded Hindus, and Christians, in their devotion to God, are hat wearing Muslims.”

“You might think I lost all hope at that point. I did. And as a result I perked up and felt much better.”

“Dare I say I miss him? I do. I miss him. I still see him in my dreams. They are nightmares mostly, but nightmares tinged with love. Such is the strangeness of the human heart.”

“I suppose in the end, the whole of life becomes an act of letting go, but what always hurts the most is not taking a moment to say goodbye.”


WHAT I LOVE ABOUT IT 

  • Life of Pi is a book that combines religion and adventure skilfully. It tells us a lot about life and faith without being preachy, and at the end of the day, is still a delightfully engaging story.
  • The author actually captures the essence of Pondicherry (and India) accurately.
  • An emotional rollercoaster of a book, Life of Pi is heartbreaking, inspiring, hilarious and intriguing all at the same time.
  • The movie version does not disappoint in any way. However, I recommend that you read the book first, and then watch the movie.
  • A confusing but comforting blend of realism and religious idealism, Life of Pi has become my go-to book when I’ve had a bad week.

I hope you like the book!

I’d love to hear your opinions in the comments.

Happy Reading!

Pallavi.

GET THE BOOK

//ws-na.amazon-adsystem.com/widgets/q?ServiceVersion=20070822&OneJS=1&Operation=GetAdHtml&MarketPlace=US&source=ss&ref=ss_til&ad_type=product_link&tracking_id=bookhave06-20&marketplace=amazon&region=US&placement=0156027321&asins=0156027321&linkId=Z7LI3EXLU7W6E7PI&show_border=true&link_opens_in_new_window=true

What do you have to say?

