WEEKLY WONDER: The Glass Menagerie by Tennessee Williams (#33)

Hey everyone!

Welcome to Weekly Wonder, a forum where we add literary gems to your TBRs.

This week’s wonder is:

41-kw0uqpbl-_sy344_bo1204203200_

THE GLASS MANAGERIE BY TENNESSEE WILLIAMS

SO, WHAT’S UP WITH THE STORY?

When Tom invites an acquaintance from work, Jim home for dinner, his mother, Amanda is high as a kite at the prospect of a “gentleman visitor” (aka a suitor for her daughter Laura). She seeks to relive her days as a Southern Belle vicariously through Laura but the shy, reserved Laura is too ashamed of her limp to interact with her high school crush. Will Amanda get to live out her dream or her youth? Will Laura be able to break her shell to fulfil her own dreams? What about Tom? What is his view on all this? Read the book to find out!


A GLIMPSE BETWEEN THE PAGES

“Time is the longest distance between two places.”

“In memory, everything seems to happen to music.”

“Yes, I have tricks in my pocket, I have things up my sleeve. But I am the opposite of a stage magician. He gives you illusion that has the appearance of truth. I give you truth in the pleasant disguise of illusion.”

“The scene is memory and is therefore nonrealistic. Memory takes a lot of poetic license. It omits some details; others are exaggerated, according to the emotional value of the articles it touches, for memory is seated predominantly in the heart.”

“You are the only young man that I know of who ignores the fact that the future becomes the present, the present the past, and the past turns into everlasting regret if you don’t plan for it.”

“People go to the movies instead of moving.”

“Being disappointed is one thing and being discouraged is something else.”

“The different people are not like other people, but being different is nothing to be ashamed of. Because other people are not such wonderful people. They’re one hundred times one thousand. You’re one times one! They walk all over the earth. You just stay here.”


WHAT I LOVE ABOUT IT

  • This is a memory play and Tom warns the reader/audience that it might not necessarily be absolutely correct. Check out the fourth quote above!
  • I saw a performance of the play and the music accompaniment was AMAZING. It sets the entire mood of the play perfectly.
  • This play has various autobiographical elements with Tom representing Williams himself and his mother and sister being represented by Amanda and Laura respectively.
  • This play is one of what I like to call The Big Three plays of Tennessee Williams, the other two being Cat on a Hot Tin Roof and A Streetcar Named Desire.
  • I personally identify with the desire to fly that Tom basically embodies and I too yearn for the creative freedom that he seeks.
  • There is a general environment of pathos throughout the play but not a single identifiable tragedy per se.
  • The current title is much better than the working title of “The Gentleman Caller.”
  • As always, William’s skilful use of symbols leaves a lot of room for various analyses.
  • This movie:

 

I hope you like the play as much as I did and if you get the chance, do see a live performance.

Have you already read or seen it?  What did you think of it?  Please use spoiler tags where appropriate.

Do you plan to read it? Let me know it all in the comments!

Please Note: I have my final board exams from the 18th of February to the 21st of March. I will try my best but will probably not be able to be very active on the blog. I have scheduled the posts during this period so your reading pleasure will be uninterrupted but if there are delays in approval of comments or if I am not able to reply to the same, please bear with me. I am trying my best and I promise a very special post once I’m done with my boards as a Thank You.

Happy Reading!

Jeannie

What do you have to say?

