WEEKLY WONDER: The Girl In The Garden by Kamala Nair (#34)

Hey, everyone.

Welcome to Weekly Wonder, a weekly series in which we add to your already overloaded To Be Read list, with absolutely no spoilers.

This week’s Wonder is:

IMG_20160207_163658 (1)
The Girl In The Garden, by Kamala Nair

 

SO, WHAT IS UP WITH THE STORY?

Rakhee Singh, a ten year old non-residential Indian residing in cold Minnesota, watches her world fall apart as her mother’s old ghosts revisit her. Amma (her mother), books a hasty flight to Kerala, India, and takes Rakhee along with her. Rakhee leaves behind her broken father and home to meet her true roots. There, in Malanad, she learned of a terrible secret. One that might possibly change her entire life.


A GLIMPSE BETWEEN THE PAGES

“I have a good relationship with most of my family; a wonderful man has just proposed marriage to me- but I haven’t overcome any demons, really. I may have wrestled and bound them beneath my bed, but they have clawed their way free, as I should have known they eventually would, and I cannot marry you until I banish them.”

“This house used to be full of people,” said Amma,”back when my father was alive- he liked the house to be lively. There were always cousins, aunts and uncles, and friends around. Muthashi used to love cooking huge feasts for everyone when she was still- well, you know, young.”

“An excess of stalls crowded the streets, which were clogged with mustachioed men and women swathed in bright saris and salwar kameez, their shiny black hair wound into pendulous braids that emanated the pungent scent of coconut oil.”

“It was a funny thing to look and feel identical to the way I did yesterday, but to be suddenly a whole year older.”


WHAT I LOVE ABOUT IT 

  • Despite having the same amount of pretentiousness as a lot of Indian English authors, Nair’s story is very interesting.
  • The imagery is vivid and haunting, as expected.
  • As a protagonist, Rakhee is quite relatable. Although her situation is far more dire than one may usually find themselves in, one can easily sympathise with her.
  •  The narration is essentially one large flashback, but I completely lost myself in it. It did not feel like an adult reminiscing about when she was ten- it feels like a ten year old’s narrative.
  • Bittersweet endings are a classic favourite.

I hope you like the book!

I’d love to hear your opinions in the comments.

Happy Reading!

Pallavi.

GET THE BOOK

//ws-na.amazon-adsystem.com/widgets/q?ServiceVersion=20070822&OneJS=1&Operation=GetAdHtml&MarketPlace=US&source=ss&ref=ss_til&ad_type=product_link&tracking_id=bookhave06-20&marketplace=amazon&region=US&placement=0446572691&asins=0446572691&linkId=J33EKRFWKLGZ2MMS&show_border=true&link_opens_in_new_window=true

3 thoughts on “WEEKLY WONDER: The Girl In The Garden by Kamala Nair (#34)

  1. Pingback: Happy Birthday! – BOOKLOVERS' HAVEN

  2. hi, (I’m not getting into Indian authors in general) regarding the book review I was compelled to read the same after reading this blog and fully agree with the remark that there is no way one can say it to be a flashback once you are there, the narrative is that of a ten year old and not that of an adult reminiscing about her childhood.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. “Despite having the same amount of pretentiousness as a lot of Indian English authors” HAHAHAHA, can you please expound on that a little bit? I mean, I agree with you but I’d like to know what you specifically mean when you call Indian authors “pretentious” and whether or not our definitions match.

    Like

What do you have to say?

