WEEKLY WONDER: Not a Penny More, Not a Penny Less by Jeffrey Archer (#35)

Hey everyone!

Welcome to Weekly Wonder, a weekly series in which we recommend the cream of the literary crop for your TBRs.

This week’s wonder is:

download (13)

NOT A PENNY MORE, NOT A PENNY LESS BY JEFFREY ARCHER

SO, WHAT’S UP WITH THE STORY?

Harvey Metcalfe has no scruples about using shady tactics to get his way and that is the reason he has risen from a messenger to an oil mogul but Harvey meets his match when he cheats Stephen Bradley, an American professor at University of Oxford; Dr Adrian Tryner, a Harley Street physician; Jean-Pierre Lamanns, a French art dealer with a gallery in London and James Brigsley, heir to an earldom. When Stephen discovers the con, he brings them all together with the intention of getting their money back. Will they be able to? How will they manage to pull it off? Read the book to find out!


A GLIMPSE BETWEEN THE PAGES

“Making a million legally has always been difficult. Making a million illegally has always been a little easier. Keeping a million when you have made it is perhaps the most difficult of all.”

“The bastard. It’s bad enough knowing he’s stolen our money,but it’s humiliating having to watch him spend it.”

“One of the advantages of real worth is that menial tasks can always be left to someone else.”

“He had never understood the niceties of life and it was too late to start learning now.”

“It pains me to think how much you are worth now.”
“I can’t tell you that. If you can count it, you haven’t got any.”


WHAT I LOVE ABOUT IT

  • This is Jeffrey Archer’s first book and its absolutely amazing!
  • This book was supposedly inspired by Archer’s own experience with near-bankrupcy.
  • When I attended the launch of Mightier Than the Sword, Archer mentioned the first ever book-signing he held for Penny and only three people came to have the book signed, one of whom was the author he was sharing the signing with. As a writer, I find it inspiring that despite all that, Archer continued to write and surprised that Penny did not attract attention initially.
  • The “Luke, I am your father”-seque moment.
  • The way the tension builds throughout the novel makes it near impossible to leave the book in the middle.
  • This book acts as a great introduction to Jeffrey Archer as an author.
  • Jeffrey Archer is also the author of Kane and Abel and The Prodigal Daughter.
  • Archer, by his own admission, is a believer of the “Write What You Know” philosophy and it shows in his books. Many of them feature British Politics and the Stock Market but he researches and introduces something new in most of his books. In this book for instance, he displays extensive research in surgery and horse racing.
  • The ending… oh the ending. Hint: (Read at your own risk) The title provides a clue to the last line and the last line made the book worth the dark circles I had after forgetting to leave my sleep read to sleep.

At this point, I usually end with “I hope you like the book as much as I did” but I know that you will if you choose to give it a chance so I hope you give this book a chance.

Please Note: I have my final board exams from the 18th of February to the 21st of March. I will try my best but will probably not be able to be very active on the blog. I have scheduled the posts during this period so your reading pleasure will be uninterrupted but if there are delays in approval of comments or if I am not able to reply to the same, please bear with me. I am trying my best and I promise a very special post once I’m done with my boards as a Thank You.

Happy Reading!

Jeannie

One thought on “WEEKLY WONDER: Not a Penny More, Not a Penny Less by Jeffrey Archer (#35)

  1. Pingback: WEEKLY WONDER: Sons of Fortune by Jeffrey Archer (#39) – BOOKLOVERS' HAVEN

What do you have to say?

