Bookish Thought #30

“I can never read all the books I want; I can never be all the people I want and live all the lives I want. I can never train myself in all the skills I want. And why do I want? I want to live and feel all the shades, tones and variations of mental and physical experience possible in my life. And I am horribly limited.”

― Sylvia Plath, The Unabridged Journals of Sylvia Plath

As this is the very last quote I will put up, I thought this one would be appropriate as it perfectly reflects why I read. Is this something that you like and would like to see more of? Let me know in the comments!

Happy Reading!

Jeannie

2 thoughts on “Bookish Thought #30

    1. True. The idea is intimidating and overwhelming and knowing Sylvia Plath’s history, her inability to achieve this goal and her feeling of inferiority over her “horribly limited” capacity probably contributed to her depression and suicide.

      Having said that, I still feel that this is the ultimate exercise in empathy and only when we crawl into a person’s skin and squirm around in it can we ever hope to empathise and I have a feeling that Sylvia Plath recognised that. Except maybe she took it a bit far and made it into a goal for herself and not a simple experience.

      Anyway, rant over.

      Like

What do you have to say?

