3 Days, 3 Quotes Challenge (#3)

Hey everyone!

Today is the last day of the 3 Day, 3 Quotes Challenge for me and I am so very excited for this post and a little sad that this adventure is just about over.

THE THREE RULES

  1. Thank the person who nominated you.
  2. Post a quote for three consecutive days (one quote per day).
  3. Nominate three bloggers each day

Dream It Alive,

THANK YOU


THE QUOTE

“We don’t read and write poetry because it’s cute. We read and write poetry because we are members of the human race. And the human race is filled with passion. And medicine, law, business, engineering, these are noble pursuits and necessary to sustain life. But poetry, beauty, romance, love, these are what we stay alive for. To quote from Whitman, “O me! O life!… of the questions of these recurring; of the endless trains of the faithless… of cities filled with the foolish; what good amid these, O me, O life?” Answer. That you are here – that life exists, and identity; that the powerful play goes on and you may contribute a verse. That the powerful play *goes on* and you may contribute a verse. What will your verse be?”

– Dead Poets Society

Despite my bashing of TV and movies in the first post of this challenge, I must confess to being hypocritical and admit that Dead Poets Society is one of my favourite movies and a constant source of intellectual enjoyment and stimulation, despite its minor faults.

I love this quote because it speaks about the necessities of life and the passions of life. I identify with it. I was named after a gynaecologist, my mom’s gynaecologist because my dad wanted me to go into medicine. You can imagine his reaction when I decided to write… This quote expresses what I felt at the time (and still do) perfectly. Though the profession of a doctor was a noble one and very productive, doctors simply prolonged life, I, as a writer, wanted to give people a reason to live. I wanted to contribute a verse to the beauty of life.


THE NOMINATIONS

phipallavi
(I know she and I share this blog but I want to nominate her regardless. And yes, Pallavi, feel free to start after exams are over.)

Sahar

Robert Okaji


Happy Reading!

Jeannie

10 thoughts on “3 Days, 3 Quotes Challenge (#3)

  1. Pingback: The Who Are You? Challege – BOOKLOVERS' HAVEN

  2. Pingback: Happy Birthday! – BOOKLOVERS' HAVEN

  3. Whoa…powerful quote. Most people don’t understand the need we feel to write. It doesn’t make sense to them how being deprived of writing is like being deprived of sleep or how life without books is like food without seasoning. I love one of the last things you said: “Doctors simply prolonged life, I, as a writer, wanted to give people a reason to live.” You couldn’t have explained it better!
    I like the new blog look by the way! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

What do you have to say?